Off-TopicCan't access a specific website going thru a router

All the various Off-Topic crap here ;)
Previous topicNext topic
User avatar

Topic Author
clight77
Donator
Donator
    Windows 10 Chrome
Magic user status: Offline
Posts: 421
Joined: Sep 24th, '15, 14:23

Can't access a specific website going thru a router

Post by clight77 »

Can't access a specific website going thru my router

The correct answer to this problem is as follows:

1. You must go into your router.
2. Enter the setup section.
3. Select MAC address.
4. Select user defined.
5. Change a few numbers and letters in the MAC address.
6. Save settings and reboot your computer and reset your MODEM.

This problem occurs when viewing the same site over a router from more that one computer or application at the same time for a period of time. This activates something in the server software that puts your IP address on a so called "BAND LIST". Your web hosting company will not be able to correct it because they don't know what is going on because they can see that it is working fine from their point of view.
Most common response is: Replace your router.
It works for them... But it is not the correct answer and it costs money to do so.

More Info:
If you check your IP address with and without your router, you will see that it is different. The MAC address on your router is different from the one on your modem. The MAC address helps define what your IP address is. If you are on an "IP Band List", you must change your IP. This is only possible through changing the MAC address on the router or calling you ISP, if you are not using a router.
User avatar

martin
Admin
Admin
    Linux Chrome
Magic user status: Offline
Posts: 4708
Joined: Apr 6th, '14, 14:12

Re: Can't access a specific website going thru a router

Post by martin »

Mac change will change the ip for that one device.

I dont see how sitting on a site for hours or days on end can block an ip on the server end my pc is on mine 24/7 365 days a year.
Use this to install an ext on your board no more ftp or path making.
Path too install this ext is ext/boardtools/upload
Download is here Make it easy for us to solve your issues
User avatar

Topic Author
clight77
Donator
Donator
    Windows 10 Chrome
Magic user status: Offline
Posts: 421
Joined: Sep 24th, '15, 14:23

Re: Can't access a specific website going thru a router

Post by clight77 »

That's not what it says..
It says if you are home networked and have more than 1 PC or whatever on that site all or a lot of the times it fecks up.. I did what it said and BINGO I was right back on.


Edit.
That's why direct from modem to PC still works, as the IP is not blocked actually, the router is banning it.
Last edited by clight77 on Mar 18th, '20, 00:01, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar

martin
Admin
Admin
    Linux Chrome
Magic user status: Offline
Posts: 4708
Joined: Apr 6th, '14, 14:12

Re: Can't access a specific website going thru a router

Post by martin »

You would as it changed ip but next that one will go and your have to change again and thats not right i was pointing out sitting still should not ban/block any thing.
User avatar

Topic Author
clight77
Donator
Donator
    Windows 10 Chrome
Magic user status: Offline
Posts: 421
Joined: Sep 24th, '15, 14:23

Re: Can't access a specific website going thru a router

Post by clight77 »

Yes true the router is banning that IP not the modem tho as that is why direct from modem to PC still worked, it is the router banning the IP.
User avatar

martin
Admin
Admin
    Linux Chrome
Magic user status: Offline
Posts: 4708
Joined: Apr 6th, '14, 14:12

Re: Can't access a specific website going thru a router

Post by martin »

Strange set up we just have a router in the uk no modem needed.
User avatar

Topic Author
clight77
Donator
Donator
    Windows 10 Chrome
Magic user status: Offline
Posts: 421
Joined: Sep 24th, '15, 14:23

Re: Can't access a specific website going thru a router

Post by clight77 »

I don't even need a router I choose to use it as it has more flexibilty, I could have my modem from ISP switched over to do it all but it has only 2 ports.

We call it Switched or Un Switched.
User avatar

Sniper_E
VIP
VIP
    Windows 10 Firefox
Magic user status: Offline
Posts: 1018
Joined: Oct 14th, '14, 17:01

Re: Can't access a specific website going thru a router

Post by Sniper_E »

clight77 wrote: Mar 18th, '20, 00:02 Yes true the router is banning that IP not the modem tho as that is why direct from modem to PC still worked, it is the router banning the IP.
What about Animalchin did you share this with him? I hope he is connected also.
Image
No is NEVER an Option and NEVER is the only Option when it comes to Giving Up!™
User avatar

Topic Author
clight77
Donator
Donator
    Windows 10 Chrome
Magic user status: Offline
Posts: 421
Joined: Sep 24th, '15, 14:23

Re: Can't access a specific website going thru a router

Post by clight77 »

Sniper_E wrote: Mar 18th, '20, 19:11
clight77 wrote: Mar 18th, '20, 00:02 Yes true the router is banning that IP not the modem tho as that is why direct from modem to PC still worked, it is the router banning the IP.
What about Animalchin did you share this with him? I hope he is connected also.
He is not been posting for awhile,but I did share this info with him but I don't know if it even pertains to his IP's being blocked issue.
I have to wait till he gets a hold of me.


EDIT:
He posted 40 today so I guess maybe he fixed or was fixed...
Previous topicNext topic